Wednesday, March 10, 2010

FIFA World Cup 2010

2010 FIFA World Cup
South Africa 2010

2010 FIFA World Cup official logo
Tournament details
Host country South Africa
Dates11 June – 11 July
Teams32 (from 6 confederations)
Venue(s)10 (in 9 host cities)
← 2006
2014 →
The 2010 FIFA World Cup will be the 19th FIFA World Cup, the premier international footballtournament. It is scheduled to take place between 11 June and 11 July 2010 in South Africa. The 2010 FIFA World Cup will be the culmination of a qualification process that began in August 2007 and involved 204 of the 208 FIFA national teams. As such, it matches the 2008 Summer Olympicsas the sports event with the most competing nations.
This will be the first time that the tournament has been hosted by an African nation, after South Africa beat Morocco and Egypt in an all-African bidding process. This decision left the Oceania Football Confederation as the only confederation yet to host the FIFA World Cup. Italy are the defending champions. The draw for the finals took place on 4 December 2009 in Cape Town

                                                          Jabulani, the official match ball of the 2010 FIFA World Cup

Zakumi, the mascot of the 2010 FIFA World Cup

In 2005, the organisers released a provisional list of thirteen venues to be used for the World Cup: BloemfonteinCape TownDurbanJohannesburg (two venues), KimberleyNelspruit,OrkneyPolokwanePort ElizabethPretoria, and Rustenburg. This was narrowed down to ten venues[17] which were officially announced by FIFA on 17 March 2006:

No comments: